Stoddard’s Fine Food & Ale cocktail program rekindled the creative spirit of our forefathers Jerry Thomas, William "Cocktail Bill" Boothby, Ada Coleman, Harry Craddock & Don the Beachcomber. The barkeeps here will hand-shave (or chip, when necessary) from a block of ice, pound ice in a bag & yell at spirits to get in the glass… when crafting and resurrecting these long-forgotten elixirs.
In addition to the craft cocktails offered. Our beer menu focuses on local American style ales and lagers, mixed with some of the best offerings from across the US & Europe. We can have around 80 different beer selections at any one time including: 20 beers on top, 5 cask ales –one if largest number under one roof in the United States.
Our immense bar, standing 15 feet high and 30 feet long, was imported from West Yorkshire, UK from the world leading hand carver of bars, Andy Thornton; it is an oversized replica of the “Del Monte # 1” Which was originally constructed in the 1900 by the Brunswick-Balke-Collender Corporation of Chicago.
Our appetizers range from $8-14 and include items such as: Cask Ale and Smoked Gouda made English Style with local cask conditioned ale served with house-made pretzel bites; House Charcuterie Plate (House made pates, terrines, salamis with pickles and toast). Entrees range between $15-31 and feature choices like: Stoddard’s Burger (All natural Meyer ranch beef and short rib, chiffonade lettuce, B&B pickles, and steak fries); and Au Natural Pot Pies, Prime Beef Rib-Eyes, Duck & Fresh Seafood.
Unique Historical Elements:
The former quarters of Stoddard’s Fine Cutlery and home to original tenant Chandler’s Corset Store, this 1868 building is one of the new structures to survive the Great Fire of 1872 and is listed on the Temple Place National Historic Register. Over the past two years, the partners of Stoddard’s Fine Food & Ale have meticulously researched and rehabilitated the space, preserving the historical opulence and unique facets that remain in-tact today. Authentic 1868 wooden clapboards line the walls of the vestibule as diamond-tufted leather adorned with nickel studs covers the ceiling and booths in the entryway. Garments from the original Chandler’s Corset Store are encased and on display upon entering. The Railings from the original Filene’s store (c. 1912) section off various spaces, including two active mezzanines that are raised up and attached to the bordering brick walls. The rear of the main space is ornamented with soldered galvanized steel frosted windows from the early 1930’s that hide a long-forgotten entrance. On the lower level, which boast hand painted gold scrollwork that is replicated on the dinner menu. Chandeliers and light fixtures form the Mary Street Station stop that formerly protected the safe will serve as the bar’s foot rail.